5 Reasons I am Cheerful!

A friend who reads this blog challenged me the other day. He said he liked the blog but I was always moaning about something, could I not write about something that makes me happy. This was a harder task than I thought.

I’ve not included family or friends in this list, they are a given and my whole reason for being, but I don’t want to get too soft.

1. LIVING IN A SMALL TOWN

I like it when I walk around the town, people say “Hi!” “Awright!” and I can chat about the football or just catch up with folk I’ve not seen for a while. I like it when cars toot as they go past, I wave and my wife asks me “Who was that?” a lot of the time the answer is “No idea!” other times it’s “Oh that’s X she snogged Y at the dancing one time, but now she’s married to Z from the Supermarket.” This is also a negative of small town living, everybody knows your business, (or wants to) but I prefer this friendliness to the emptiness of a big city.

2. MOUNTAIN DEW IS NOW IN SHOPS.

I Dreamed a Dream: The Susan Boyle Story

I Dreamed a Dream: The Susan Boyle Story (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Being a frequent traveller to “the states” I fell in love with Mountain Dew, for years you could not get it over here, except in special import stores charging an arm and a leg. So I usually kept it for special occasions Opening Day of the Baseball always being a favourite. Now I can have it when I want and this makes me happy.

Eight flavors of Mountain Dew in a grocery sto...

Eight flavors of Mountain Dew in a grocery store display cooler. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3. I LIKE WHAT I LIKE AND DON’T CARE ABOUT “COOL”

By this I mean, I no longer feel weird about reading comics, liking Star Trek or that the last 2 Albums I bought were Rolf Harris and Subo. I think as we are growing up we make our interests match our friends and can sometimes hide what we really like for fear of not fitting in. Maybe that’s just me, but I’m older now and can take full ownership of what I wear, what I read and what I enjoy.

4. FACEBOOK

I like it when I find out someone I worked with years ago is doing well for themselves, it makes me feel happy when I see an old school friend has baked a cake for their child’s birthday or went to the zoo, I enjoy seeing someone I vaguely know is interested in a cause. I know it’s also a bit crap at times, but at least once a day it will make me smile and that’s a good thing.

5. HAVING A RIGHT GOOD MOAN.

I love going off on one, having a right good rant about Politics, Religion, Football or any Arsehole celebrity that happens to be in the paper. I like it when I get louder and the ideas start coming faster (hopefully, not all of them bad.) and my favourite thing is when these rants, without any planning, tie themselves up in a nice bow with a good ending.

Yeah, I know I got my Subo and Mountain Dew picture mixed up! I’m new to this.

This entry was posted in TMI and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

