My Recovery through movie, music and homespun philosophy.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I was on my knees, literally and figuratively, in the early hours of Friday morning. It didn’t last too long, as I sat a day in the pits of despair chinks of light started to break through. Inspiration and ideas came from many people and places and although nothing is solid or 100% formulated I’d like to share some of them with you.

sadnessthanks for the image Neil Slorance

Rocky Balboa

And when things got hard, you started looking for something to blame, like a big shadow. Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that!

We need to walk away from the vote rigging conspiracy, which can all be explained. We need to show we are indeed better than that. Moving forward, I think the best idea is for the Yes Movement to keep going, to fight the Westminster elections not as SNP, Greens & SSP but as YES! and take the battle to the 3 Westminster Unionist Parties and send a bus load of YES! Movement MPs to London to ensure that promises are fulfilled.

Jewel – Life Uncommon

That song has many great lessons, none more so than:

No longer lend your strength to that which you wish to be free from.

This for me addresses a number of organisations: The BBC a once beloved institution gone badly awry. There are many people sharing ways to avoid paying your TV Licence. The Scottish Labour and Unionist Party have for too long coasted on the Anti-Thatcher feelings and failed to deliver better lives for the very people who support them. In many constituencies, they could put a monkey up and still win, yet their heartland areas slip more and more into deprivation. This needs to end. Dealing with other businesses and banks that  scare mongered, I believe remains a conscience issue for individuals. I don’t think that any mass boycott would prove anything and may well prove to be counter-productive.

He Ain’t Heavy He’s My Brother and the “45”

I have known this song forever and it wasn’t until it got shuffled up today that I really got it; my “brother” goes to the food bank, my “sister” is on a zero hour contract. They are the low paid and the disenfranchised. I want to pick them up when they stumble, it doesn’t bother me and I’m happy to do it.

1,617,989 people have now started to call themselves “The 45”. I advise caution and restraint. Be proud of your accomplishments , but if we regard ourselves as any better than “The 55”, we can never become anything more than 45. Be inclusive, talk and open your arms. Those people are going to need us as much as we need them.

45

Homespun Philosophy

My Granda taught me to ride a bike. I remember him saying, “The secret is, every time you fall off, you get back on the bike.” I’m pretty sure now that he stole that from John Wayne talking about horses, but I thought it pretty wise at the time. I told my Nana what he’d said and she replied, “That’s stupid, the secret is just not falling off at all.” Sadly we fell off the bike this time, the worst thing would be if we never get back on.

I lived without hope for a few dark hours on Friday. I didn’t like it and I refuse to let life do it to me again.

If you liked this have a look at https://www.facebook.com/universalserviceblog for more of the same.

This entry was posted in Politics, TMI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Recovery through movie, music and homespun philosophy.

  1. Calum says:

    I was in the depths of despair on Friday, I just couldn’t reconcile the result with the positivity, energy and hope I had seen in our campaign. I will never forget the feeling of walking to the polling station on Thursday evening and the number of Yes signs I saw along the way and the hope that stirred inside of me.

    When the result came through I felt sick to the core of my being; angry at my fellow citizens for not taking what to me was an opportunity of a lifetime. And when the voting demographic data emerged, betrayed by my parents’ generation. I was saying all the “fuck you Scotland”s imaginable and talking about returning to live in Japan and that I would never support the Scottish football team again (still not sure about that one- we just voted not to be a country so Flower of Scotland would be rather embarrassing). I’m not hurting quite as badly today…

    I walked around the streets of Glasgow yesterday and it gave me hope- if our biggest city can vote Yes then there is hope still. The dreams of 1.6 million of us have been crushed by the selfishness, fear and sheer ignorance of others in our society. We can work on them, in 2014 there were 45%, next time round we only need to move that by 6%. The problem is of course how we get that next chance…

    Today I have joined the SNP. The Scottish Greens are probably closer to my personal politics but we’ve got to be strategical here. First destroy Labour at the ballot boxes and get as many SNP MPs and MSPs elected. I can see no other way to strive towards what we want- an independent Scotland running its own affairs for the best needs of the people that live here (I’m open to suggestions of course!).

Leave a Reply

